Stormy Chesapeake Championship for J/105s

Here is the report on the Chesapeake Bay Championship: "With a nor’easter bearing down, Race Chair Sandy Grosvenor and Event PRO Steve Kling made the decision to postpone Saturday’s first warning by two hours to allow the sea state to settle in and the predicted 30-40 knot gusts to continue northward. At 1300, the first race of the day kicked off in 20+ knots and 2-3’ swells, but considering how many days were lost of racing this year due to no wind, the conditions were perfect, if not challenging, for a mid-fall championship weekend. The Race Committee ran two races on Day 1 including a five-leg course for race 2, which put the tired, cold, and wet competitors closer to home at the finish line. Day 2, Sunday, kicked off 30 minutes earlier than initially planned to give the Committee a good chance of fitting in three races in a timely manner before sending crews ashore to warm up in the Skipjack for the trophy presentation. With the sun out and the breeze in the mid to high teens, the 1030 warning sent the J/105s off on the first of two four-legged races before wrapping up Race 5 for the regatta with five legs and very happy sailors. Cedric Lewis and Fredrik Salvesen with their long-time crew on Mirage once again found themselves on the trophy list for the J/105s, picking up first place for the regatta. In second place was John White sailing with Shane Zwingelberg and Sarah Russell. In third place was Andrew Kennedy’s team on Bat IV. Closing out the presentation was the most meaningful award for local J/105 sailors, as a trophy lost in the fire was adopted by member Andrew Kennedy, Bat IV, and Andy & Leslie Skibo, former owners of Plum Crazy, and presented for the first time since its loss. The Steve Gale Memorial Award was awarded to Mirage’s Greg Larcher. Gale, who passed away in 2010, was a long-time bowman for both Plum Crazy and Bat IV, and the trophy was created to recognize the bowman for the top place boat in the fleet’s fall Championship. The trophy is now on display in the Clubhouse and will be updated with the winners’ names since its origination." For more Chesapeake Bay Championship information, visit

Comments are closed.